Top Five Essays in Caitlin Moran’s ‘Moranifesto’

A Woman’s Monthly Faultiness

Moran discusses the taboo that still exists when talking about periods. Why should something that happens so regularly to half the world’s population be something that’s never talked about or portrayed on screen? She points out that period blood has only been seen in Carrie (and, let’s be honest, it’s not an accurate portrayal of what it’s like for most women), and in Lena Dunham’s Girls. 


Bacon

In a much more light-hearted essay, she shares her love for bacon. I’ve spent the best part of the last three years outside of the UK and, though you can get bacon elsewhere, it’s just not the same. This essay made me homesick for bacon.
Musicals

In another here-is-something-that-I-love-so-let-me-sing-its-praises (pun intended) essay where she shares her love of musicals. I’d never thought about feminism in musicals before, but Moran made me see them in a whole new light. It made me add lots more musicals to my list of films to watch, and I can’t wait.
Women Getting Killed

This essay is on a far heavier topic, about women getting killed both worldwide and in the UK.  The severity of sexism and abuse really hits home here, as Caitlin provides real and heartbreaking stories. She also addresses the trope in popular TV series and films of women as victims. We need to move away from this old-fashioned, over-used trope, and show women in every role.
Reading is Fierce

This was my absolute favourite in the whole collection. Reading is Fierce. Say it aloud. Reading. Is. Fierce.Caitlin explains how reading is not merely a passive activity. I’m sick of people thinking I’m only reading to kill time, and that I’m not reading because I love it. We all project ourselves onto characters as we read, and fully immerse ourselves in the writing. It forces us to think, to feel, to live through others. Reading is not passive. Reading is, as Caitlin Moran so wonderfully puts it, fierce..

Leave a Reply

