The Outlander Book Tag


I’m currently reading – and loving – Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander, and when I saw this book tag I knew I had to do it. My friend, Becky, and I are currently co-reading the first book, after having watched the first two series of the TV series. Outlander is essentially about a woman called Claire who is accidentally sent back in time from the 1940s to the 1740s, and has to come to terms with leaving her old life behind and understanding and dealing with her new life in the Scottish highlands. If you want to know more about our co-read, information is linked here:

https://bookgeekwrites.wordpress.com/2016/07/01/outlander-co-read/

We still have another two weeks to go but all of our thoughts from the last five weeks are also published, so check out my recent posts if you want to know how I’m finding the book.
You touch some standing stones and get transported back in time; what year would you hope to land in?

I actually have a degree in history and love learning about history, but for me this is such an easy question: 1920s New York City. I absolutely love this time period; the glamour, the glitz, the flappers, the parties, the music, the literature. I’d cut my hair short, and I’d befriend F. Scott Fitzgerald, and I’d have an all-round great time. You know, until the Great Depression and World War Two.
Claire is a very good nurse; what type of skill would you want to have that a fictional character excels at?

Hand-to-hand combat. Essentially I want to be Celaena Sardothien from the Throne of Glass series. My physical prowess has never been one to envy, so I would love to excel at something like Celaena. She is the coolest, sassiest assassin I know of.
Claire and Jamie are ultimate relationship goals; who is your favourite fictional couple?

Claire and Jamie? Perhaps that’s cheating! In that case, Simon and Baz from Carry On. I love these two! They’re so sassy, and mean. It’s definitely a relationship that develops from hatred, and their feelings are no less intense now they love one another. 
The ending of Outlander was shocking; what is one book you read that totally blew your mind?

I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai. This was mind-blowing in a different sense. Malala is an autobiographical account of a young girl who was shot by the Taliban, but miraculously survived and now fights for education for girls everywhere. She is an absolutely spectacular young woman, and so inspiring. 
Scotland has lots of castles and we see quite a few of them in Outlander; what fictional kingdom would you want as your own?

This is quite a tricky question. Many of the fictional world’s I read about are not places I’d want to live in! Saying that, I think I’d be pretty happy living in the Emerald City and ruling Oz! Now the witch has gone, I feel like I’d have a great time!
Outlander has some very steamy scenes; what’s your favourite romance novel?

The History of Love by Nicole Krauss. This book is about a young man from Poland who wrote a book about his love for Alma, and a young girl trying to help her mother through her loneliness. It all centres around a book unsurprisingly called The History of Love. It’s a beautiful story about love in all kinds of forms.
The Jacobite Rising is a huge plot point in the Outlander series; what book has your favourite battle in it?

The Battle of Hogwarts in the final Harry Potter instalment, the highlight of course being “not my daughter, you bitch!”
Jamie and Claire get married very unexpectedly; what fictional character would you want to marry on a whim?

Jamie Fraser! But I think maybe that’s cheating. I don’t care. Jamie Fraser, Jamie Fraser, Jamie Fraser. My name is Claire, I’m 23 year years old, and I’m also from the future. It’s perfect.
Scotland is a beautiful place; what fictional world would you love to visit?

Wonderland. Easy peasy. I wouldn’t want to be stuck in Wonderland, but I would absolutely love to visit. I could have all kinds of crazy adventures in Wonderland!
If you could change the past, would you?

Absolutely not. Have you never seen Back to the Future? It doesn’t end well. If you’re not convinced, read Stephen Fry’s Making History. It’s a great read, and it will definitely make it clear how dangerous time travel could be. 

Leave a Reply

