The Cursed Child – Before Reading 

I already in part dislike The Cursed Child, if only for the fact that it forces me to accept that the epilogue of The Deathly Hallows was in fact canon, and I can no longer push it out of my mind and pretend the series ended and the Battle of Hogwarts. Which is what should have happened. What I wanted – and I don’t think I’m alone here – was for the series to end when the battle ended. Essentially, the Harry Potter series is about Harry’s quest to defeat Voldemort. Once that happened the story should’ve ended. I don’t want to suggest that everything else was unimportant, I kind of want to suggest the opposite – that I was so in love with the secondary characters and their stories that I wanted to decide for myself what happened to them. But alas – I have had to accept the epilogue as canon and get over it. 

The format is different. This is obvious, of course. The Cursed Child is not a novel, it’s a play. Plays aren’t meant to be read, they’re meant to be seen, and I worry that this will take away from the story. In the novels, Rowling is a fantastic world builder, but when you only have dialogue to read there is no world building to be read. Sure if the dialogue is good, it might mean readers can forget the lack of everything else but there’s no escaping the fact that we will only be receiving the bare bones of this story. Some of the best shows I have seen were so spectacular because of the lighting, the acting, the scenery, and the special effects. Dialogue is just a part of it, and I don’t know if it will be enough to satisfy many Potterheads.

I thought I could casually ignore the release date, with only slight interest in the publication of this bind up but I was wrong. Years of anticipating new books and films had me similarly excited to read this new release, though admittedly a lot more apprehensive. 

Anyway, I’m off to read. I’ll post my thoughts on the play itself when I’ve finished reading!

Leave a Reply

