Melody Bittersweet: Book Review


Melody Bittersweet is a fantastically hilarious, laugh-out-loud book about a young woman, Melody, and the ghostbusting agency she sets up with her best friend, Marina, and her assistant, Art. 

The best thing about this book, for me, was definitely the characters. All of the characters are very individual and you’d know who said a piece of dialogue immediately, because each character had such a distinct voice. My favourite character was the crazy grandma, Dice. I laughed out loud reading about her relationship with Melody’s grandad and how he died. 

I absolutely loved that the main relationship in this book was the female friendship, and the romance really took a back seat. Melody and Marina’s relationship is wonderful and funny, and it’s the kind of friendship every woman deserves. As far as the romance goes, I’m not a fan of love triangles. There’s tension throughout between Melody and Fletch, and Melody and Leo, but because there’s not a big emphasis on either of these relationships (the friendship and the plot are really what’s important), I actually found myself enjoying these scenes. I also like how it’s unclear who the ‘winner’ will be. Fletch and Leo are both terrible people, so I’m looking forward to seeing their character development in the sequel. 

This book was refreshingly British, and I really enjoyed all of the pop culture references. I love Heir Hunters too, Art’s mum! They were up to date and hilarious.

Speaking of which, I hugely enjoyed the genealogy aspect of the novel, as it’s something I am particularly interested in. I would’ve enjoyed some direct quotes from Agnes’s diary, but overall I loved the historical and genealogical parts of the story. It made it feel very real to me.

I would recommend this book to anyone who was ever a fan of Ghostbusters, Casper the Friendly Ghost, Little Vampire and Haunted Mansion. It read like a longer, funnier episode of Ghost Whisperer. 

I’m really excited for the next instalment in the series. Girl ghostbusting power!

Leave a Reply

