Book Riot Reading Challenge

Since I graduated from university in the summer of 2014 I have really enjoyed all of the (non-academic) reading I have had time to do. I like to think I read quite broadly and have read many different genres of books. This challenge covers many different styles, some of which I wouldn’t normally pick up and choose for myself, so I’m hoping that this challenges me to read even more broadly.
There are twenty four books in this challenge:
Read a horror book

Read a non-fiction book about science

Read a collection of essays

Read a book out loud to someone else

Read a middle-grade book

Read a biography (not memoirs or autobiography) 

Read a dystopian or post-apocalyptic book

Read a book originally published in the decade you were born in

Listen to an audiobook that has won an Audience Award

Read a book with more than 500 pages 

Read a book with fewer than 100 pages

Read a book where the main character or author defines themselves as transgender

Read a book set in the Middle East 

Read a book by a South East Asian author 

Read historical fiction set before 1900

Read the first in a series by a person of colour

Read a non-superhero comic (last three years)

Read a book that has been made into a film and compare

Read feminist non-fiction

Read a book about religion

Read a book about politics

Read a food memoir

Read a play

Read a book where the main character suffers from a mental illness

I have already, though not deliberately, read some books that fall into these categories and I will review those soon. I will go on to review those that I read for this challenge throughout the year. 
I’m looking forward to further diversifying my reading habits!
Claire

Leave a Reply

